DAB+ agreement in Eastern Europe

Eastern Europe Agreement

DAB+ agreement in Eastern Europe. An agreement was signed in Budapest for the expansion of DAB+ radio in Eastern Europe.

The signing of the agreement represents the conclusion of four years of consultations on DAB+ frequency planning in seven neighboring countries: Austria, Hungary, Slovenia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Croatia, Serbia and Romania.

On June 12 and 13, the final meeting of a working group made up of media regulators and frequency planning institutions from these seven Eastern European countries took place. The solemn signing of the agreement on the use of DAB+ frequencies in common areas was preceded by four years of intensive work, which began in Vienna in October 2019. At RTR and KommAustria, responsibility lay with the broadcast frequency management department.

The agreement enables administrations to bid for new or additional DAB+ multiplex coverage by agreeing technical reference parameters for future DAB+ transmitters. This avoids mutual interference at national borders. The next eight coordination meetings had to be held online because of the pandemic. For this reason, the official signing of the agreement was a particularly important moment for all participants and representatives of the various countries involved.

Source : RTR

Comments are closed.